Posted in Uncategorized

Day 154 June 2nd 2016

I am trying to learn some Te Reo right now and this week I have had the opportunity to practise my mihi for real.  It is pretty scary speaking in front of people but it’s is so culturally important to make a connection and let people know where I come from.  Today a couple of the teachers from a Maori medium school spoke to us and said how pleased they were that we had introduced ourselves in Te Reo and how well we spoke. Then one of them even added a comment to the evaluation form.  Very proud of myself.

image

Author:

Teacher of Languages first and foremost but passionate about learning and teaching. I have been learning how to blend technology into my teaching for the last twenty years and worked for seven years supporting colleagues to build their skills and confidence using digital technologies as part of their teaching and learning. In 2014 I was honoured to be awarded an eFellowship from Core Education which was a challenging and fun year. I am now a Connected Learning Advisor with Core Education. In that role I support school leaders in their planning and implementation of technology. I love being in the outdoors and spend as much of my time as I can in the bush, by the ocean and on mountains.